Advisory Council

Members of the Advisory Council support the Director and staff by offering guidance on current research and suggesting ideas for future studies.

To contact any member of the Council please contact the Director Brendan Donnelly.

15th February 2016: With great sadness we announce that our longstanding Council member Professor Maurice Fraser has died. Maurice was Professor of Practice in European Politics at the European Institute of the London School of Economics and a former Special Adviser in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. An obituary with online condolences can be found on the LSE website.

A Memorial Service was held in honour of our former Chairman John Pinder OBE on Saturday 25th April 2015. Please find the eulogies and obituaries for John here.

Obituary for our former Council member Ernest Wistrich in The Guardian

Obituary for our former Council member Roger Morgan in Times Educational Supplement

Obituary of our former Council member Marie-Louise Rossi (published in Interlib , the Journal of the Liberal International British Group, No.1, 2015)


Members of the Advisory Council


Chairman: Sir Stephen Wall GCMG LVO
Former European adviser to the British Prime Minister

Lord Andrew Adonis
Labour peer

Professor Iain Begg
Professor of International Economics, London School of Economics

Professor Michael Burgess
Director, Centre for Federal Studies, University of Kent

Dr Hywel Ceri Jones
Executive Chairman, European Policy Centre, Brussels

Professor Stefan Collignon
Visiting Professor at Harvard University and Professor of European Political Economy at the London School of Economics

John Cooke
Economic Consultant, formerly at the DTI and UK Representation in Brussels.

Robert Emerson
Director, Grosvenor Lifestyle

Dr Nigel Forman
Non-Executive Director, HFC Bank plc

Baroness Sally Greengross OBE
Former Director General, Age Concern England

Claudia Hamill
Fondation Arlon; formerly Brunswick PR and the National Trust

Professor Stephen Haseler
Director, Global Policy Institute at London Metropolitan University; and Senior Research Fellow at the Federal Trust

Richard Laming
European Movement

John Leech
European Co-ordinator, West-West Agenda

Nicolas Maclean
Chief Executive, NWM

Robert Moreland
European Movement; former MEP

John Palmer
Former Political Director of the European Policy Centre and journalist

Baroness Joyce Quin
Former MP

Tom Spencer
Executive Director, European Centre for Public Affairs

John Stevens
Chairman, British Committee, European People’s Party

Sir Brian Unwin
President, European Centre for Nature Conservation/Honorary President, European Investment Bank

Professor Richard Whitman
Professor of Politics and International Relations, University of Kent